Lagos Smart Meter Hackathon Finalists Emerge, Two Winners to Share N7m

The Lagos State Government, South-West, Nigeria, has announced the frontrunners that will participate in the final hackathon design event slated for 16th through 18th September, 2020.


The Governor of the State, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu is expected to announce the overall winner from each competing entries in hardware and software categories at the Grand Finale and present the N7 million prize.

Five contenders each emerged from both categories of the competition, and the two winners will share the prize money of N7 million.

Finalists were shortlisted after a transparent, rigorous and competitive process. Hackathon received two hundred and seventy four (274) registrations or entries; one hundred and twenty seven (127) of which bid in hardware category, while one hundred and forty seven (147) competed in software group. However only sixty five (65) hardware and software prototypes were submitted by applicants. The shortlisted five finalists from hardware category are: Cosmo Automation, Smart Energy, Techwizard, Power Bit Cruchers and Gadozz Electricals, while the five software finalists are: Vectorians, Zeena Platform, Magnitronics, Chosen Soft Tech and Gideon.

This Initiative of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources is aimed at providing affordable electricity meters to the populace by facilitating the design and production of meters that will accelerate efforts towards achieving improvement in energy distribution, monitoring and prevention of revenue leakage.

Presently, over 60% of Lagosians and Nigerians are estimated to be unmetered due to unavailability and the high cost of meter acquisition. The Lagos State Government is therefore leveraging bright local talents to design and produce affordable smart electricity meters.

The shortlisted finalists for the Lagos Smart Meter Hackathon 2020 are five hardware teams, namely: Cosmo Automation, Smart Energy, Techwizard, Power Bit Cruchers and Gadozz Electricals.

The five software finalist teams are: Vectorians, Zeena Platform, Magnitronics, Chosen Soft Tech and Gideon. These teams, who were shortlisted after a rigorous and competitive process, will participate in the final hackathon event slated for 16th to 18th September, 2020 when the final winners for both hardware and software categories will be announced. The winners from the two categories will receive a prize of seven million naira.

The Lagos Smart Meter Hackathon 2020 is convened by the Lagos State Ministry of Energy & Mineral Resources; curated by Eko Innovation Centre; sponsored by Access Bank Plc, Egbin Power, Ikeja Electric Distribution Company, Mojec International, Eko Electric Distribution Company, MOMASElectricity Meters Manufacturing Company, ElSewedy Electric, Royal Power & Energy, Venture Garden Group, InfraCredit, Axxela Limited; and supported by The Lagos State Office of Innovation and Technology, Lagos State Employment Trust Fund (LSETF), the Nigerian Electricity Management Services Agency (NEMSA), Africa Fintech Foundry (AFF), Oracle, IBM, General Electric, Business Day and Accelerate TV.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.